Michigan law specifically prohibits the manufacture, sale, offer for sale, or possession of automatic firearms, mufflers and silencers, explosive devices, certain hand weapons like blackjacks and metallic knuckles, and disabling devices intended to incapacitate a person.

Violating Section 750.224 is classified as a felony. Penalties can include up to 5 years in prison, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.

Yes, there are specific exceptions. These include self-defense sprays and foams, individuals or entities manufacturing under a U.S. government contract, and those licensed by the U.S. Treasury to manufacture, sell, or possess these items.

The law defines a muffler or silencer as a device that mutes or silences the sound of a firearm, any parts intended to create such a device, or any part specifically designed for making a muffler or silencer.

Potential defenses include lack of knowledge about the prohibited nature of the item, legal ownership or manufacture, misidentification of the object, temporary possession for legal purposes, and use of legal self-defense sprays and foams. Remember, each case is unique, and the applicability of these defenses varies based on the specific circumstances. For personalized legal help, […]

The short answer is most likely not, but it’s possible depending on whether it is a felony or misdemeanor drunk driving conviction. For felony DUI, it is a definite no – in fact the mere possession of a firearm is prohibited. For misdemeanor DUI, as long as a certain time period has passed since the […]

Legally termed as Brandishing a Firearm in Public, this charge not only includes pointing a firearm at another person but also includes waving or displaying a firearm in a manner that is intended to cause fear or intimidation to another individual.

This varies considerably depending on the exact nature of the charge, as well as whether it is a state or federal level violation. In general, one can expect up to five years in prison for state level violations, and up to ten years for certain federal crimes such as NFA violations.

There are a number of restrictions for the issuance of a concealed weapons permit in Michigan. Officially known as a Concealed Pistol License, this permit has numerous restrictions upon those required for simply purchasing and owning a firearm. The Michigan State Police conduct a thorough background check on all CPL applications, with a host of […]

Yes and no. Certain misdemeanor offenses are not an issue as long as they are older than eight years prior to the date of application. Other less serious misdemeanors are less restrictive and the applicant can file for their permit as long as the conviction occurred at least three years prior to their CPL application. […]